One of the debates among young vegans online is whether or not Cap’n Crunch Peanut Butter cereal is vegan or not. I noticed this because I’ve been wanting to veganize the famous Momofuku Milk Bar Compost Cookies, and I thought Cap’n Crunch cereal would be good in them. So, I emailed the Quaker Oats company and here’s their response below. I found it fascinating that there’s a Kosher symbol code that indicates whether a product has meat or dairy in it. Since I’m not Jewish, I was unaware of this. I checked the box of Cap’n Crunch Peanut Butter cereal, and sure enough, there’s a “U” enclosed in a circle, indicating there’s no meat or dairy in this product. I’m not debating the nutrition (or lack thereof) of this cereal, because we all know it’s junk food, but I am interested in food labeling. It’s pretty crazy that many things like Corn Flakes, Rice Krispies and Bisquick are NOT vegan. And why do they have to put animal products in Gummy Bears and Marshmallows and Candy Corn, all of which have hair and skin and bones in them? I’d like to see food commercials show intermittent flashes of the horrific, needless suffering that other living beings go through, sometimes for years on end, to create these products. I have never seen it, but a friend once told me about an old PETA commercial that shows a model wearing a luxurious fur on a runway, and as she gets to the end, and pivots for the audience, the folds of the fur coat flare out and spatter the audience with the blood of the animals that died for this vanity. I appreciate the “V” symbol that Trader Joe’s uses to indicate vegan foods, and have noted the use of more “Dairy Free” and “Vegan” phrasing on labels in the last year. In short, Cap’n Crunch Peanut Butter cereal is supposedly vegan.
Thanks for your interest in our Cap’n Crunch Peanut Butter Crunch cereal, as well as our other Quaker brand cereals. I’ll be happy to help.
While we don’t currently label any of our products specifically for vegan concerns, I’d like to let you know that we do Kosher-certify all applicable Quaker products, which we know is helpful for many consumers who are concerned with animal-derived ingredients. Kosher Law precludes the use of meat and dairy products in the same meal, therefore, you can trust that they will be labeled appropriately if they contain any animal-derived products so that you may avoid them.
Below is a guide to the symbols you can watch for on Quaker brand products to find vegan-friendly products which do not contain any animal or animal by-products:
* The letter “U” enclosed in a circle on the front of a product (the symbol of the Orthodox Union of
Jewish Congregations) indicates that the product is Kosher. If it appears by itself, the product
contains neither meat nor dairy.
* If a letter “D” is beside or underneath the circled U, it means that some part of the product
contains dairy, but not meat.
* If a letter “M” is beside or underneath the circled U, it means that some part of the product
contains meat (not currently used for any cereal products).
Note: Fish and Eggs are not considered meat under Kosher law; however, we do label for their presence below the ingredient listing since they are common allergens. If either of these products were present in the formulation, or exposed to the product during manufacturing, we will label “Contains” or “May Contain” in bold print right beneath the list of ingredients.
With that said, I’m happy to let you know that our Peanut Butter Crunch flavor is free of any meat or dairy ingredients. Our other flavors (including original Cap’n Crunch, Crunchberries, and Oops! All Berries) are Kosher-Dairy, indicating that they include or may have been exposed to dairy ingredients at some point during manufacturing.
I hope that this information is helpful for you, Ms. Erickson, in choosing products. We appreciate your interest in Quaker.
Quaker Consumer Relations
A Division of PepsiCo